The 69 remembered

The tower of St John’s Church in Meads, Eastbourne, is the only remaining part of the former church which was bombed on 4th May 1942. The tower houses a small chapel and a First World War memorial.

The memorial lists the names of 69 local men who died in the Great War. A Book of Remembrance has been made to record the histories of these men. The research is available to view in the Tower in a loose-leaf format so further details can be added. A Map of Meads in the Tower shows where the men lived – all in close proximity in the village and surrounding area.

If you can add details or photographs please contact us.

Specially-made films

We have a growing number of specially-made films about Eastbourne in the First and Second World Wars. These feature footage from the Imperial War Museum, local photographs and interviews with local people.

Touch-screen map

See where the men on our memorial lived. Using our touch-screen map, visitors to the exhibition can discover details of the men who lived in Meads and died in World War 1.

Wartime artefacts

We have a growing collection of wartime artefacts as well as replica First and Second World War uniforms, with child-sized uniforms children can try on.